Some Things I Wish I’d Known Sooner

[I first posted this in my Facebook Notes section in July 2014. It’s worth a re-run.]

Just a bunch of stuff I learned over the years and wish I had known sooner.

Note for uptight bureacrats: None of this is “medical advice”.  Think of some of these as “things to ask your doctor about the next time you see him.”

– If you have migraines or frequent headaches, Norvasc may help.  My headaches stopped when I went on 5mg per day of Norvasc for blood pressure.  That’s the minimum dose.  I have since learned of others who were put on 10mg daily of Norvasc for headaches/migraines, and their headaches disappeared.

– This used to be printed on the Clorox bottle.  To get rid of fungal infections on the feet, including toenail fungus, use 3 tbsp Clorox in a gallon of warm water, and soak feet for 15 minutes.  Repeat daily for one week.  Yes, it works.  It has to be Clorox, which is a slightly different chemical than other bleaches.

– O’Keefe’s Healthy Feet is a very effective moisturizer, and also contains an anti-fungal to keep things under control once you have done the Clorox thing.  You will not believe the difference a day later after just one application.

– O’Keefe’s Working Hands is the hand moisturizer.  Excellent, especially for mechanics who use strong cleaners, or health professionals who have to wash their hands multiple times per day.

– If you are on warfarin, you know that your INR has to be checked at least monthly.  Vitamin K reduces warfarin’s effect, so if your diet changes around a lot, you could have your INR readings bouncing around.  If you take a daily vitamin (like Centrum Silver) to keep enough vitamin K in your blood so it doesn’t jump around so much, your INR readings will be more stable.

– If you have problems like those shown in the Preparation H commercials, the best fix is to use a bidet every time you go to the pot.  Absent that, a shower every time will work but is often inconvenient.  Instead, clean up with baby wipes.  Works for them, works for you.

– Do not carry your wallet in a back pocket so that you sit on it.  It forms a wedge under your pelvis that puts a curve in the bottom portion of your spine.  Sit like that in a car for several hours, and every jolt in the road turns into stresses in your spine, and over time you can dislocate a disk.  Carry your wallet in your front pocket instead.

– Some people’s skin eats away at metals like those used in watches and eyeglasses.  Those metals go into your skin and can cause skin reactions that turn into lesions.  Use plastic-framed glasses, and get a titanium or stainless steel watch.

– I bought lots of watches over the years, some expensive and some cheap.  I dealt with batteries, and winding, and having them react with my skin, and having them look like garbage after a year or two because I am very active and use tools and stuff and they get all beat up.  Sixteen years ago I bought a Citizen Eco-Drive titanium watch.  It uses a solar cell under the watch face to charge, and will run on as little as 3 hours of indoor lighting per day.  No batteries, no winding, sealed to 100 meters.  I have worn this watch 24 hours a day for 16 years, and it just keeps running no matter what and still looks great.  I bought one of the women’s versions for Wendy and she loves it.  Pick one that you really like the look of, because it will be the last watch you ever need to buy.  In stainless, $100 and up; in titanium, $200 and up; at Amazon.

 

One thought on “Some Things I Wish I’d Known Sooner”

Leave a comment